How to record data logs in full resolution for unlimited period of time?

I am sorry if this not the right place to place these questions but I am a beginner trying to develop an application with joulescope and I have plenty of questions. I would be very thankful if someone could answer me these question.
a) I saw the examples of downsampled logging but I cannot figure out how do I log data for the longer period of time without downsampling at full resolution and the recording to only stop when CTRL+C is pressed. Am I missing something obvious here?

b) Maybe this question is not even joulescope related, but why do we need to define the buffer in stream_by_callback example and what exactly does the stream_notify does there?

c) In downsample logging the frequencies are 1, 2, 4, 10, 20, 50, 100 . Where do these values come from? What prevents me from defining arbitrary value for frequency like 6 or 25?

d) and what value does the use of weakref adds in downsample_logger.

I know these questions are not strictly related to joulescope but I would be really thankful if someone could answer me these. Thank you very much in advance.

Hi @jst and welcome to the forum! This forum is the perfect place for these questions.

Capturing data to a JLS file is not hard, but it’s not trivial either. I just added a capture_jls.py example that records at full rate until you press CTRL-C.

In read_by_callback.py, the StreamProcess.stream_notify method gets called when new data is available. The “self._buffer” is part of the implementation to store up to the first length samples. Your code will do whatever you want, but likely will call stream_buffer.samples_get to get the most recent data.

The reduction frequencies are enumerated as a parameter. These values allow for simple and convenient UI selection. You could hack the code to define you own reductions here. In downsample_logging.py, you could specify a frequency of 100 with the command-line option:

--downsample 4