Obtain absolute timestamp of events? (JS-110)

Hi all,

Firstly, nicely done on this product… my workplace bought one of these to investigate the power consumption of some battery-operated devices we’re prototyping, and while I’m still learning how to drive this, I’m learning a lot.

The particular device we’re developing is a wireless microcontroller-based device which participates on a 6LoWPAN network, so communicates to the outside world using UDP and IPv6 – and reports a lot of what it’s doing via syslog protocol, whilst receiving network time synchronisation via multicast NTP and/or unicast SNTP. So, the device knows the time, and time-stamps its logs which are then received and recorded by rsyslog.

I can look through the logs and see the trail of events that the device was up to. I’m able to measure and record the power consumption, but there’s a snag:

Looking at the above, while I can see the time relative to when I clicked the record button (which looks to be around 00:00:33 – I think that’s in UTC, my workstation runs Australia/Brisbane aka UTC+10).

If I try to figure out when this event happened to correlate it with the logs, I think I can get a rough approximation by summing 00:00:33 with the relative time-stamp, but I was wondering if there was a way in the UI to get the absolute time-stamp of a given event? i.e. is there a feature that would tell me exactly when 566 and 574 seconds was?

1 Like

Hi @sjlongland and welcome to the Joulescope forum!

Sounds like you are starting to really dig into things! Unfortunately, the existing Joulescope UI 0.10.x does not have a way to display wall-clock time. The timing is in samples, which are only relative to sample 0.